Endangered Species in The Arctic Region

Categories: Endangered Species

The Arctic, or also known as The Arctic Region or Circle, is an area located in the northern hemisphere, or North Pole, of planet Earth. It is composed of the Arctic Ocean and different countries including Canada, USA, Russia, Greenland, Norway, Finland, Sweden, and Iceland. This region is characterized by its cold weather, as well as, its glaciers, icebergs and the sea ice that surround it. In the same way, the expanse landscapes make up the habitats of many animals inside the diverse marine and terrestrial ecosystem.

The Artic is home to a variety of different unique species such as: polar bears, artic foxes and ringed seals.
Ursus maritimus, also known by their common name as polar bears, are one of the many animals that live in the Artic. Polar bears are marine mammals, that weigh from 900 to 1,600lbs, ranging in about 7 to 9 ft lengthwise and have a lifespan of 25 to 30 years. They are also characterized by their thick layer of transparent fur, which due to the reflection of visible light appears most often white, and underneath black skin.

In addition, they are carnivores and the apex predators of their ecosystem. They mainly hunt for ringed seals, sometimes walruses and whales and they may also on certain occasions prey on their carcasses. An interesting fact about polar bears is that female polar bears usually give birth to twin cubs, who remain with their mother for about 2 years and then leave to fend for themselves. Polar bears as of right now are categorized as a vulnerable species.

Top Writers
Allan Brooks
Verified writer
5 (893)
Verified writer
4.7 (239)
Verified writer
4.9 (247)
hire verified writer

This is due to factors such as climate change, oil exploitation, toxic pollution and overhunting.
Artic foxes or Vulpes Lagopus, is another type of species that lives in the Artic Region. They are mammals that can live in the wild from 3 to 6 years. The artic fox weighs around 6.5 to 17lbs and is 18 to 26 inches in size. In the winter, their fur coat turns white, but some may also have a brown/blue coat. Their white coat helps them blend in with the snow—ideal for hunting. Furthermore, their diet consists of rodents, fish, birds and vegetables. Many times, they might follow polar bears to feed off their preys remains. For this reason, they are considered omnivores. An interesting fact is that artic foxes use their tail as a cover to keep warm in the cold weather. Artic foxes as of now are not considered an endangered species; their population is stable.
Ringed seals, known also as Pusa hispida, are one of the many types of seals that habit the Artic. They are known as one the smallest species of seals. Their name, “ringed seals”, is based off the many round patterns they have on their gray bodies. These seals are carnivorous mammals and their diet consists of fishes and a variety of invertebrates. They can weigh up to 150lbs and are 5ft in length. A fun fact about seals is that they have a thick layer of fat, known as blubber, that helps them keep warm and can serve as nutrients. Ringed seals, as of today’s date, are not considered an endangered species.
In conclusion, the Artic is home to a variety of different unique species, such as: polar bears, artic foxes and ringed seals. Like many other places around the world, this region and its animals are being affected by climate change and human destruction. Each one of these animals play an important role in their ecosystem, for which it is important to conserve their species. Polar bears, artic foxes and ringed seals are all connected in a unique way, if one of these go extinct consequently so might the other. It is important we make a change so that no more species are lost.

Cite this page

Endangered Species in The Arctic Region. (2021, Oct 31). Retrieved from http://envrexperts.com/free-essays/essay-about-endangered-species-arctic-region

Endangered Species in The Arctic Region
Let’s chat?  We're online 24/7